Soccer and More Soccer

Image

We start with these great imagined uniforms from Mark Willis; he designed a bunch of baseball team uniforms if they were soccer teams. I hope he doesn’t mind me reprinting a couple of them here, and check out his website for lots of cool designs. This one of the St. Louis Cardinals is my favorite.

Image

Soccer has had a big week.  The Eden Hazard affair is one of the more ridiculously exciting things that I’ve seen in a while. Reminds me of Dennis Rodman kicking a photographer. Rodman got a huge suspension and I’m guessing Hazard will as well, even though–what the hell was the ball boy doing? I’ve never seen a ball boy do that. In fact, as Iain Macintosh reports, the ball boy “told his Twitter followers before the match that he was ‘needed for timewasting,’ and if that was his brief, he certainly fulfilled it to the letter. Swansea, naturally, denied that they had given out any such orders, but it wouldn’t be the first time that a club has used its most junior members of staff to such a nefarious end.”

Arsenal showed why it is the most exciting team in the EPL, scoring 4 goals in 10 minutes in a 5-1 win over West Ham. When Arsenal is on, which isn’t as often as it should be, they are fast, attacking and spread the ball better than any team perhaps Man U.  Thanks, too, to West Ham for continuing to attack, and thus leaving their back end vulnerable, even as they fell further behind. Theo Walcott is not this guy (below), but he gives the Gunners hope.

Image

I also should express the requisite excitement about one of the biggest goals scored by an American in EPL history.

Image

I’m avoiding the Celtics of basketball because I really don’t know what to say. I don’t think they should shut it down. I do think they need another consistent scorer. I do think Jason Terry will get better. But I also don’t think that Paul Pierce can be the centerpiece of the offense, and someone else has to help. He can do it on the nights he’s hot, but otherwise he’s better as a distributor. Or, maybe they are heeding my advice and pushing for the 8th seed so they can have it out right from the get go with Miami.

How sad is it that I didn’t know if this was from the New Yorker (it is) or the Onion (it isn’t). And this is coming the same week that we are reading about a 33 seat advantage for Republicans in the House despite losing the national vote by more than a million people?

Leave a Reply

